Enable Clear the Recent programs list for new session in Windows 8

As almost many users out there are quite aware of the new features embedded in Windows 8. You must have come across the feature that tracks down your recently used programs on the system. This feature comes in handy when you have to browse a number of files for using a particular file, if you have recently accessed the files then you immediately access it from recent programs or documents. But, however some users might not like their activities been tracked down may be due to privacy issues, security or anything else, in that case you can enable clear the recent programs list for new users in Windows 8.Clear the Recent programs list Windows 8

The security and privacy values a lot, so if you don’t favor the new tracking feature of Windows 8, you can follow the tutorial here. By enabling clear the recent programs list feature, the history of recent documents gets cleared out every time you log off your system, thus making the track record unavailable for the users who logins the system later or in next login session.

Follow the steps below to enable clear the recent programs list for new users in Windows 8.

  • Press Windows Key + R to open Run dialog box
  • Next, type in gpedit.msc and hit Enter. This will open Local Group Policy editor window
  • In the local group policy editor, navigate to the following location User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Start Menu and Taskbar

Start Menu Taskbar

  • In the right pane, look for the option Clear the recent programs list for new users

Clear recent programs

  • Next, double click on it. In the window that appears, you can see it is Not Configured, this is by default

Click Enabled

  • Click in the radio button next to Enabled and click Apply.

Once you have completed all the steps, you can go restart the system. Upon reboot, you can notice that the recent documents or recently visited places are cleared off.

Now, you can use the system and no longer have to worry about your privacy on the system as your recent activities won’t be tracked down after following the tutorial above.

Advertisement

No comments yet.

Leave a Comment